Recently I was reminded about problems our young people face.  I read about everything from issues of poverty to the depressed state of our education system.  Then, I cam across the article in the NY Post about a grade school principal who decided that Lee Greenwood’s song, “God bless the USA”, was not appropriate for the children to sing at school ceremony.  The principals’ reasoning was that the song might be “offensive to some cultures and religions”.

This struck me as so absurd that I actually became angry.  After thinking about this for a day, I realized that this is a problem that affects us all on many levels.

Fist of all, I have to state that I do feel, teaching our children that there are differences in cultures or religions is very important.  This is a key element of education that helps our students become better leaders and ever more tolerant citizens later in life.

But where is the teaching of valuing OUR culture?  Where is the teaching of Pride?  Pride in the work that you do.  Pride in the freedoms that are offered to you as an individual.  Pride in the ability to practice you own religion.  Pride in your freedom of choice.  Pride in America!  If someone is offended by the idea of a blessing for our country, then I am not sure that this is a person that really understands the value of OUR culture.

It is OUR culture that allows so many different people from so many different cultures to live and prosper together.  I would like to think that we are teaching our children the value of living in America.  I would like to think that we are teaching our children why so many people from so many different cultures come to live in America.  I would like to think that we are teaching our children to have Pride in this wonderful place we call home, America.

Regardless of what you think about our country from nearly any perspective and no mater what side of any political issue you take, we all continue to have the freedom of choice to live in one of the most desirable places to work, raise families and enjoy an overall excellent quality of life.  For this I think we should all be thankful and very proud!

“God Bless the USA”

